## Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh Award Winner 2015



Associate Dean William Hart-Davidson and Viki Gietzel

Viki Gietzel, administrative assistant for the Department of Religious Studies and the Jewish Studies Program was honored as the 2015 Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh Non-Academic Staff Award recipient at the College of Arts and Letters' annual support staff appreciation luncheon and awards ceremony held in June at the Kellogg Center.

Dr. William Hart-Davidson, the College's associate dean for graduate studies, was on hand to present the award.

Past recipients were also in attendance for the presentation, including the award's namesake and 2011 winner Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh, 2012 awardee Anna Davis, 2013 recipient Dawn Lehman, and 2014 honoree Judy Easterbrook.

Established in 2011, the award is named in honor of Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh, who served the College of Arts and Letters for more than 25 years in various staff positions. Nominations of College of Arts and Letters staff members who exemplify the qualities displayed by Jo-Ann Vanden Bergh, and whose attainment of excellence deserves this special recognition, are solicited from College faculty and staff each spring, and the award is announced and presented to the recipient in June. The recipient receives \$500, an award plaque and citation, and is also recognized with a nameplate on the permanent award plaque in Linton Hall.

# Alumni Association Board Presents 2015 Faculty Awards



Awardees left-right: Professor Marsha MacDowell (Community Partner Award-accepted by nominator David Stowe); Associate Professor Sandra Logan (Faculty Leadership Award); Associate Professor Rob Roznowski (Paul Varg Alumni Award for Faculty); Acting Dean Elizabeth H. Simmons, and Assistant Professor Natalie Phillips (Award for Innovation and Leadership in Teaching and Learning)

The College of Arts and Letters Alumni Association presented its 2015 faculty awards in April at the Kellogg Center. Those honored included:

#### **Natalie Phillips**

Assistant Professor, Department of English:

The Faculty Award for Innovation and Leadership in Teaching and Learning in recognition of innovative teaching and overall excellence.

#### **Rob Roznowski**

Associate Professor, Department of Theatre:

The Paul Varg Alumni Award for Faculty, named after the College's first Dean, Paul Varg, and presented in recognition of outstanding teaching and scholarly achievement.

### Sandra Logan

Associate Professor, Department of English:

The Faculty Leadership Award in recognition of outstanding achievement in faculty leadership.

#### Marsha MacDowell

Professor, Department of Art, Art History, And Design, MSU Museum

The College of Arts and Letters Community Partner Award was created in 2015 by the Arts and Letters Alumni Association to recognize a College faculty member's community contributions at the local, state, national and or global/world levels.